Newberry Soil and Water Conservation District governing board consists of five commissioners. Of the five, three members are elected in the general election in Newberry County, with the other two being appointed by the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources. The district has a District Coordinator, a full time staff position to oversee daily operations. NSWCD also has Associate Commissioners and Commissioner Emeritus who serve on the Soil and Water Conservation board in an advisory role.

C. Ben Setzler Jr.

The Chair of the Newberry Soil and Water Conservation District calls, convenes, oversees, and adjourns all meetings of the Board. Their role is to oversee the discussion of business at the Board's monthly meeting.

Wayne Satterwhite

The Vice-Chairman of the Soil and Water Conservation District assists the Chair, performs the duties of the Chair in the absences of the Chair, and handles other duties as assigned to the position by the Board.

Toni Warren

The Secretary of the Board develops complete records of all district proceedings including dates, place and purpose of meetings. They also record all motions in full and inform the Chair of any business that should come before the Board.

Doug Heydt

The Treasurer develops complete and accurate records of all income and expenditures and any periodic financial reports. They also assure the bills authorized for payment are paid on time and recorded in the minutes.

Rev. James Shealy

The Chaplain of the Newberry Soil and Water Conservation District leads all official and appropriate events off with prayer, teachings, or reflections. The Chaplain assists the Board in guidance and teachings when called upon.

Joseph Berry
District Coordinator

The District Coordinator helps coordinate board activities, serve as an agent of the district to contact landowners, agencies and others regarding district business, and provides technical and educational assistance to the public and private landowners.

Barbara Baughman
Associate Commissioner
Eugene Wilson
Associate Commissioner
Earle Bedenbaugh
Commissioner Emeritus
Bill Waldrop
Associate Commissioner
John Long
Associate Commisioner
Andrew McCall
Soil Sampling Contractor/ Intern

© 2018 by Newberry Soil and Water Conservation District